The Dawson Region

The Dawson planning region now covers 39 854 km2 (approximately 8% of the Yukon), down from 45 240 km2 when the Commission was active from 2010-2014. The upper Miner and Whitestone watersheds were removed from the previous region to be planned in a separate process. This removed area is often referred to as the “North Yukon Annex”.

The regional map gives context to the plans boundary, existing protected areas, and settlement lands.