Dawson Regional Planning to Resume

DRPC LogoAfter months of working with us and the Vuntut Gwitchin Government, the Yukon Government and Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in announced on June 29th, 2018 that they approved a Terms of Reference for a new commission. Now these two governments, or the “Parties” to the Dawson Regional Plan, will work together in advertising and nominating commission members. Each Party will nominate 3 members to the 6 member Commission.

Those interested in becoming a member will be expected to sign the Terms of Reference and participate at meetings and public events. The Commission is expected to meet primarily in Dawson City every 4-8 weeks for approximately two years. If you wish to be considered for nomination, please contact the Yukon Government and/or Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in. The deadline for applications is July 20th, 2018.

The new Commission will use an updated Resource Assessment Report and an updated Issues and Interests Report in their deliberations. They are also expected to meet with the public as they work towards writing a Draft Plan and a Recommended Plan by late 2019.

The Dawson Planning Region has also changed since the Commission was last active in 2014. Much of the overlap between the Traditional Territories of the Vuntut Gwitchin and Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in will now be included in the North Yukon Region to be planned at a later date. The Dawson Region will now have two non-contiguous (not touching) portions.