New Dawson Regional Planning Commission Formed

This is the logo of the Dawson Planning CommissionThe Government of Yukon and Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in have formed the new Dawson Regional Land Use Planning Commission. The Yukon and Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in governments each nominated three people to the six-person Commission in accordance with the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Final Agreement.

The new members of the Commission are:

  • Alice McCulley
  • Angie Joseph-Rear
  • Art Webster
  • Dan Reynolds
  • Debbie Nagano
  • John Flynn

The new Commission will develop a plan for future land use in the region with assistance from the Yukon Land Use Planning Council. The Commission’s work will be guided by the Terms of Reference agreed to by the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in and Yukon governments.

Working with the governments and through public participation, the Commission will develop a regional land use plan for Settlement and Non-Settlement Land that is consistent with, and achieves, the objectives of Chapter 11 of the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Final Agreement.

The Yukon Land Use Planning Council will help in the training and orientation of the new members in spring 2019. In addition, the Council will provide technical support in the development of the recommended plan.

Click here to read the full press release.